How to manage groups and contacts within Textburst
With the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) applying in the UK from May 25th this year, keeping on top of your data and contacts has never been as important as it is now.
The purpose of the GDPR is to provide more privacy to EU citizens by improving on existing EU and individual member state legislation to reflect today’s digital world.
Textburst allows you to easily manage, edit and delete contacts within your account to help keep you in control of your customer data.
You can manage all of your contacts by logging-in to your Textburst account and clicking into ‘Contacts’. Once you’re in this area of your account you will see a list of your contacts and to the right of each contact you will see four icons which will each help you when making changes.
Editing Your Contacts
The envelope icon allows you to quickly send a message to an individual mobile number.
You can edit your contact by clicking on the pen icon and you will be taken to a page where you can add your contact’s name and other custom data to their profile which you can then later merge into your bulk text message campaigns. You can also add the contact to a group or to several groups.
Contacts can be deleted from your database by clicking on the red cross but if they have requested to opt out of your messages, we suggest adding the number to your Blacklist first. Add a contact’s number to your Blacklist by clicking on the ‘thumbs down’ icon. By blacklisting a contact your Textburst account will never send a text message to this number again, even if you re-add the contact number to your database while uploading another group.
Managing Your Blacklist
Contacts in the UK can also join your Blacklist really easily by texting STOP to 84433.
Manage your Blacklist by clicking into ‘Contacts’ and ‘Blacklist’. You can add a number individually here or bulk upload if you’ve been collecting opt outs on another platform or database.
It’s important you let your customers opt out of receiving your text messages effortlessly to ensure you stay in their good books, to ensure you’re only sending to customers who want to hear from you and to ensure you’re abiding by the new GDPR law.
Groups are a great way to separate your contacts to ensure your customers only receive the messages they have requested and the ones they are interested in.
You can view, edit and manage all of your groups by clicking into ‘Groups’. Within this area of your account you will see a list of your groups and to the right of each group you will see three icons which will each help you when making changes.
Click on the pen icon to make the following changes to your selected group:
- Edit your group name
- Add or edit the group keyword
- Edit the auto-response for a group keyword
- View, add and delete members
- Download the group contacts to Excel
- Edit the group’s email notifications.
You can send a message to your group by clicking on the envelope icon and can delete your entire group by selecting the cross icon.
Keeping on top of your groups and contacts is essential for GDPR compliance and a great way to keep your customers happy that they’re always receiving the most personal, bespoke messages from you.
Please let us know if you have any questions about Textburst – we’re always really happy to help you.